September Harvest

IMG_0365

This morning Honey and I took a walk down the dirt road at the bottom of the vineyard, past the tractor pad and the insectary and up the hill to the old oak tree. It is the same walk we have taken countless times over the years, sometimes to observe and attend to matters at hand and sometimes to merely enjoy the essence of our cozy little vineyard. Today everything is once again familiar, the straight rows of vines reaching to the top of the hill on my right, the tangle of oaks, snowberry and poison oak on my left. The road is dry and we kick up small clouds of dust along the way.

But today is different; everything has changed. Where once a late summer, early autumn walk along this road could produce feelings of anxiety, even dread as harvest approached, the mood today is lighter, friendlier, and I find myself smiling inwardly. At the top of the hill, the grapevines stand faithfully as the morning sun begins to touch their topmost leaves with the promise of a warm autumn day. With leaves a mix of fall foliage color, they look tired after the season-long struggle to ripen their treasure. It is quiet save for the slight hiss of the drip of irrigation as the vines receive their last manual watering for the year.

The vines are bare, the grapes have been harvested, and the vineyard is quiet as it prepares for a long rest before the cycle begins anew next spring. It was a good harvest I tell Honey and I sing to her as we walk back to the house.

The sun, with all those planets revolving around it and dependent on it, can still ripen a bunch of grapes as if it had nothing else in the universe to do. – Galileo Galilei

6 Comments

September 20, 2013 · 5:52 pm

6 responses to “September Harvest

  1. Cherie

    So beautifully written – right from your heart! Love you and look forward to seeing you soon!

  2. Susan

    I’m exceedingly envious that your mom and dad have completed their 2013 harvest. I’m certain it will make fantastic wine to be relished in the coming years.
    Meanwhile, I await my own post-harvest euphoria in early October; may the weather be favorable…
    Thank you Honey for keeping us in the loop. I so enjoy your writing.
    Love, Susan

  3. My Dear Honey;

    as I told to your mom and dad in July, I jealous of you. Such a nice and happy life with Debbie and Tom…
    I’m surprised when I read Debbie’s letter very emotional and I felt as though I’m there…have a wonderfull time in Peru.

    best wishes from Istanbul
    Hulya

  4. peter

    Honey, you are so fortunate to live in God’s country, out among the vines. Your responsibility is to keep Mom happy and safe and you are doing a good job.

  5. Jill

    Beautifully written! Felt I was there seeing, hearing, tasting. Coming to visit in the fall is on my bucket list, Honey. I hope your Mom and Dad enjoy their trip and tell Mom she should consider writing more than just the newsletter if she is not already.

  6. Joseph Aaron

    Fantastic! So well written! You get an A+ from the two English professors in Montana.

    Beth wants to know what to do with itchy and watery eyes since we hit Montana.

    Have a great trip. See you in October.

    My foot surgery (Dr. Knee) set for 10/9 at 3838.

    Sent from my iPhone 415 269 1234 Joe Aaron

Please let me know what you think. Love, Honey